List Film

Commodore Cinema Aberystwyth

Add to favourites
Bath Street, Aberystwyth, Wales, SY23 2NN

Fury

Fury
  • 4 stars
  • 2014
  • US/UK
  • 134 min
  • 15
  • Directed by: David Ayer
  • Cast: Brad Pitt, Shia LaBeouf, Logan Lerman, Michael Peña, Jon Bernthal, Jason Issacs, Scott Eastwood

The tale of a Sherman tank crew, led by Sgt Don 'Wardaddy' Collier (Pitt), in the final weeks of WW II. Grim and intense (heads and limbs blown off, bodies crushed under tanks) but in one of his finest performances, Pitt shows the humanity beneath the gung-ho façade; Lerman is also impressive as the rookie.

more details

Mon 8 Dec
Tue 9 Dec
Wed 10 Dec
Thu 11 Dec

The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies

The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies
  • 2014
  • US/New Zealand
  • Directed by: Peter Jackson
  • Written by: Fran Walsh (screenplay), Philippa Boyens (screenplay), Peter Jackson (screenplay), Guillermo del Toro (screenplay), J. R. R. Tolkien (novel)
  • Cast: Martin Freeman, Ian McKellen, Richard Armitage, Andy Serkis, Benedict Cumberbatch, Graham McTavish, Ken Stott, Hugo Weaving, James Nesbitt, Luke Evans, Stephen Fry, Billy Connolly, Evangeline Lilly, Christopher Lee, Cate Blanchett, Ian Holm, Elijah Wood

Jackson concludes his Tolkien hexalogy with the third and final of his films based on The Hobbit.

more details

Fri 12 Dec
Sat 13 Dec
Sun 14 Dec
Mon 15 Dec
Tue 16 Dec
Wed 17 Dec
Thu 18 Dec
Fri 19 Dec
Sat 20 Dec
Sun 21 Dec
Mon 22 Dec
Tue 23 Dec
Sat 27 Dec
Sun 28 Dec
Mon 29 Dec
Tue 30 Dec

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1
  • 4 stars
  • 2014
  • US
  • 125 min
  • 12A
  • Directed by: Francis Lawrence
  • Cast: Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson, Liam Hemsworth, Woody Harrelson, Elizabeth Banks, Phillip Seymour Hoffman, Julianne Moore

Carving the final book in the Hunger Games series into two movies pays off, giving rhythm to a story that might otherwise have felt rushed. Action and politics are confidently balanced, Sutherland is deliciously vile as ever, Hutcherson is finally given something interesting to do and while Lawrence is rightly the star, the older actors are a pleasure.

more details

Wed 26 Nov
Thu 27 Nov
Fri 28 Nov
Sat 29 Nov
Sun 30 Nov
Mon 1 Dec
Tue 2 Dec
Wed 3 Dec
Thu 4 Dec

The Penguins of Madagascar

The Penguins of Madagascar
  • 2014
  • US
  • Directed by: Eric Darnell, Simon J. Smith
  • Cast: Tom McGrath, Chris Miller, John DiMaggio, Christopher Knights, Benedict Cumberbatch, John Malkovich, Ken Jeong, Annet Mahendru, Peter Stormare

A spin-off from the Madagascar franchise which sees the espionage-savvy penguins team up with a spy organisation to prevent an evil octopus from taking over the world.

more details

Sat 27 Dec
Sun 28 Dec
Mon 29 Dec
Tue 30 Dec
Wed 31 Dec
Fri 2 Jan
Sat 3 Jan
Sun 4 Jan
Mon 5 Jan
Tue 6 Jan
Wed 7 Jan
Thu 8 Jan

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles
  • 3 stars
  • 2014
  • US
  • 101 min
  • 12A
  • Directed by: Jonathan Liebesman
  • Cast: Megan Fox, Alan Ritchson, Jeremy Howard, Pete Ploszek, Noel Fisher, Will Arnett, Danny Woodburn, William Fichtner, Johnny Knoxville, Tony Shalhoub

Visually distinctive reboot of the franchise chronicling the adventures of four late-adolescent, martial-arts-trained, pizza-addicted chelonians and their intrepid reporter pal (Fox). The CGI-enhanced turtles are an improvement on their cinematic predecessors, Fox is commendably committed and Arnett is enjoyable as her smitten cameraman. Like its heroes' favourite food, exciting and loaded with cheese.

more details

Fri 5 Dec
Sat 6 Dec
Sun 7 Dec

Family-owned, old-fashioned independent cinema with a small bar, a popular destination for local students. One film shown each week.

Tell us more about this venue.