Download Star Wars: all six films coming to Digital HD online

Download Star Wars: all six films coming to digital HD

For first time, Star Wars episodes I-VI are available to legally download in High Definition with new bonus features

Huge news for sci-fi fans: Disney, Lucasfilm and Fox have announced that for the first time ever the Star Wars franchise will be available to download in Digital HD from Friday 10 April. Even if you already own all six films on DVD, the release includes new bonus features with previously unseen material – and also, seriously, when was the last time you watched anything on your DVD / Blu-ray player anyway?

The release on iTunes, Amazon, Google Play, Xbox Video and various other online retailers comes as anticipation builds for the December arrival of JJ Abrams’ new instalment, Star Wars: The Force Awakens. However, detractors and anyone born before 1980 have been quick to note that the release still does not provide for those of us clamouring for the untampered-with theatrical cuts of the original trilogy. Why, George, why? Give the people what they want.

Still, for those who skipped the Blu-ray editions, this is the perfect opportunity to get hold of the series in all its CGI glory, relive your favourite childhood space adventure from A New Hope to Return of the Jedi and, at the very least, the ‘Duel of Fates’ lightsabre battle in The Phantom Menace (featuring Liam Neeson as a badass Jedi Knight long before anyone even thought of him as a geriaction film star).

‘We’re thrilled that fans will be able to enjoy the Star Wars saga on their digital devices wherever they go,’ commented Lucasfilm president Kathleen Kennedy. ‘These films broke new ground in technology, design, sound, and visual effects, and we’ve created some very special bonus material which delves into the saga’s rich history, including new and never-before-released conversations between legendary Star Wars artists – the masters who helped George bring his iconic universe to life.’

Amazon is currently offering the complete set for £69.00 on pre-oder, and individual films for £11.99.

Plus, unlike Lando’s bargaining with Darth Vader, this deal is getting better all the time: enhancing the movie collection are a host of never-before-seen special features including 'Star Wars: Discoveries from Inside' and insightful 'Conversations' between key contributors from across this celebrated film franchise, plus a curated collection of classic Star Wars extras from each film. The complete list of bonus material includes:

Star Wars: Episode I The Phantom Menace
Conversations: Doug Chiang Looks Back
Discoveries from Inside: Models & Miniatures
Legacy content includes 'The Beginning'; The Podrace: Theatrical Edit; plus eight deleted scenes.

Star Wars: Episode II Attack of the Clones
Conversations: Sounds in Space
Discoveries from Inside: Costumes Revealed
Legacy content includes 'From Puppets to Pixels: Digital Characters in Episode II'; State of the Art: The Previsualization of Episode II; and 'Films Are Not Released, They Escape'; plus Episode II Visual Effects Breakdown Montage and six deleted scenes.

Star Wars: Episode III Revenge of the Sith
Conversations: The Star Wars That Almost Was
Discoveries from Inside: Hologram & Bloopers
Legacy content includes documentaries 'Within a Minute: The Making of Episode III'; The Journey Part 1; and The Journey Part 2; plus six deleted scenes.

Star Wars: Episode IV A New Hope
Conversations: Creating a Universe
Discoveries from Inside: Weapons & the First Lightsaber
Legacy content includes 'Anatomy of a Dewback'; Star Wars Launch Trailer; plus eight deleted scenes.

Star Wars: Episode V The Empire Strikes Back
Conversations: The Lost Interviews
Discoveries from Inside: Matte Paintings Unveiled
Legacy content includes 'A Conversation with The Masters' (2010); 'Dennis Muren: How Walkers Walk'; 'George Lucas on Editing The Empire Strikes Back 1979'; and 'George Lucas On The Force: 2010'; plus six deleted scenes.

Star Wars: Episode VI Return of the Jedi
Conversations: The Effects
Discoveries from Inside: The Sounds of Ben Burtt
Legacy content includes 'Classic Creatures: Return of the Jedi'; 'Revenge of the Jedi Teaser Trailer'; Return of the Jedi Launch Trailer; 'It Began TV Spot'; 'Climactic Chapter TV Spot'; plus five deleted scenes.

*Digital bonus offerings may vary by retailer

Star Wars: The Force Awakens Official Teaser

Star Wars: The Force Awakens

  • 5 stars
  • 2015
  • US
  • 2h 16min
  • 12A
  • Directed by: JJ Abrams
  • Written by: Lawrence Kasdan, J.J. Abrams, Michael Arndt
  • Cast: John Boyega, Daisy Ridley, Adam Driver, Oscar Isaac, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Max von Sydow, Harrison Ford, Carrie Fisher, Mark Hamill, Anthony Daniels, Peter Mayhew, Kenny Baker
  • UK release: 17 December 2015

From the ashes of the Empire, the villainous First Order rises up to destroy Luke Skywalker (Hamill) – but where is he? Fans can rejoice: Episode VII is sensational and surprisingly emotional, with a finely-crafted script and effects that never overpower the performances. Star Wars is back in a big way.