45 Years wins Michael Powell Award at EIFF

45 Years wins Michael Powell Award at EIFF

Edinburgh International Film Festival jury announces the award winners

Andrew Haigh's 45 Years, a portrait of a fracturing marriage starring Tom Courtenay and Charlotte Rampling, has won the flagship award at the 2015 Edinburgh International Film Festival: the Michael Powell Award for Best British Feature Film. The festival jury praised it as a 'quietly explosive film which represents classic filmmaking at its best' and writer/director Haigh acknowledged that the award was 'made even more special when you consider the list of British films that have won before', a list which includes Derek Jarman's Blue, John Maybury's Love is the Devil, Tim Roth's The War Zone, Pawel Pawlikowski's My Summer of Love, Anton Corbijn's Control and Duncan Jones' Moon.

The Best Performance in a British Feature Film award was shared between veteran Scottish actor James Cosmo for The Pyramid Texts and Rampling for 45 Years, a further honour for a film which, on the strength of the universal critical acclaim handed to it is powering its way to instant classic status, despite having premiered in the UK only a week ago.

Best International Feature went to Marielle Heller's The Diary of a Teenage Girl. The audience award is announced on the Festival's closing night, Sun 28 Jun.

The full list of winners of the jury awards is below.

Michael Powell Award for Best British Feature Film: 45 Years (dir. Andrew Haigh)
Best Performance in a British Feature Film: James Cosmo, The Pyramid Texts & Charlotte Rampling, 45 Years (shared)
Best International Feature Film: The Diary of a Teenage Girl (dir. Marielle Heller)
Best Documentary Feature Film: The Wolfpack (dir. Crystal Moselle)
Best Short Film: Scrapbook (dir. Mike Hoolboom)
McLaren Award for Best New British Animation: Stems (dir. Ainslie Henderson)
Student Critics Jury Award: Black Mountain Poets (dir. James Adams)

Edinburgh International Film Festival closes on Sun 28 Jun.


Post a comment