List Film

The Customs House

Add to favourites
Mill Dam, South Shields, England, NE33 1ES
  • Box office 0191 454 1234
  • Box office times Sun–Tues 11am–6pm; Wed–Sat 11am–8pm.
  • Email
  • Website www.customshouse.co.uk
Photo of The Customs House

Bohemian Rhapsody

Bohemian Rhapsody
  • 2018
  • UK/USA
  • 1h 31min
  • 12A
  • Directed by: Bryan Singer
  • Cast: Rami Malek, Lucy Boynton, Gwilym Lee, Ben Hardy, Joseph Mazzello, Aidan Gillen, Tom Hollander, Allen Leech, Mike Myers

A biopic about Freddie Mercury and Queen focussing on the lead-up to their performance at Live Aid.

  • IMDb
Thu 25 Oct
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Fri 26 Oct
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Sat 27 Oct
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Sun 28 Oct
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Mon 29 Oct
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Tue 30 Oct
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Wed 31 Oct
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Thu 1 Nov
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Mon 5 Nov
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Tue 6 Nov
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Wed 7 Nov
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Mon 12 Nov
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Tue 13 Nov
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Wed 14 Nov
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Custom Reels Filmmaking

Learn new skills, meet industry professionals and make new friends. Suitable for ages 13–19.

Thu 25 Oct
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 1 Nov
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 8 Nov
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 15 Nov
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 22 Nov
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 29 Nov
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 6 Dec
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 13 Dec
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 20 Dec
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 27 Dec
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 3 Jan
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 10 Jan
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 17 Jan
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 24 Jan
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 31 Jan
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 7 Feb
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 14 Feb
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 21 Feb
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 28 Feb
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 7 Mar
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 14 Mar
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 21 Mar
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 28 Mar
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 4 Apr
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 11 Apr
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 18 Apr
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 25 Apr
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 2 May
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 9 May
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 16 May
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 23 May
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Drawn Together

This weekly drawing class is led by Gallery Learning Officer, Lesley Guy.

Thu 25 Oct
Gallery

£5

Thu 1 Nov
Gallery

£5

Thu 8 Nov
Gallery

£5

Thu 15 Nov
Gallery

£5

Thu 22 Nov
Gallery

£5

Funny Girl

Funny Girl
  • Directed by: Michael Mayer
  • Written by: Bob Merrill (lyrics), Jule Styne (music), Isobel Lennart

Natasha J Barnes and Sheridan Smith star in this new adaptation of Funny Girl, which tells the story of the life and career of Broadway star, film actress and comedian Fanny Brice. The musical brought global fame to Barbra Streisand 50 years ago and was originally nominated for eight Tony Awards.

Wed 24 Oct
Studio

£15 (£12.50; Children £12.50)

Gavin Webster

Edgy storytelling and provocative humour from the Geordie stand-up.

Fri 26 Oct
Dalton Suite

£10

Hocus Panto

We put a spell on you!

The three witches you love to hate are back and more magical than ever, flying high in this wicked Halloween Pantomime. Magical illusions, pop songs and things that go bump in the night all form the essential of this bewitching plot sure to delight youngsters and adults alike.

A ghoulishy spooktacular parody production, brought to you by the team that brought you the 'Harry Panto' parody, for this year's October half term that will leave you spell bound.

Wed 24 Oct

£11 (£9; Children £9)

Johnny English Strikes Again

Johnny English Strikes Again
  • 2018
  • UK/France
  • 1h 28min
  • PG
  • Directed by: David Kerr
  • Cast: Rowan Atkinson, Olga Kurylenko, Ben Miller, Emma Thompson

Johnny English (Atkinson) is called back into action after a cyberattack reveals the identities of British secret agents. The cast are game, but the dialogue lacks snap and the direction and editing are atrocious. The lack of laughs are all the more infuriating because it’s easy to see how it could have been funnier.

Sat 20 Oct
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Sun 21 Oct
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Mon 22 Oct
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Tue 23 Oct
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Thu 25 Oct
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

The King of Thieves

The King of Thieves
  • 2018
  • UK
  • Directed by: James Marsh
  • Cast: Michael Caine, Charlie Cox, Michael Gambon

Brian (Caine) is an octogenarian gangster who puts together a team of old codgers to rob the Hatton Garden diamond vaults. The biggest and flashiest of the four versions so far of this story has lots of star power but a boring script, dislikeable characters and colourless direction. Pointless and disappointing.

Mon 22 Oct
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Tue 23 Oct
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Wed 24 Oct
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Mon 29 Oct
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Tue 30 Oct
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Wed 31 Oct
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

The Matt Monro Story

The Matt Monro Story

Tribute to Matt Monro's life and music performed by his son, Matt Monro Jnr.

Thu 25 Oct

£23.50

Mega Makers

Starts at 2.30pm and ends at 4pm in Daltons 5

For Children 11 to 13. No grown ups allowed!

12th Feb Lord Lambton and after the worm!

26th March ‘Amazing optical art’ Create our own groovy

artworks inspired by the 1960s.

2nd April ‘Squishy, Sticky and Fluffy’ Make art using

unexpected materials.

28th May The Takeover ‘Studio as Laboratory’

Experiment with paint.

30th July ‘Put it Together’ Art made out of assembling

everyday objects.

6th August ‘Art Factory: Multiples’ Inspired by Pop Artist

Andy Warhol.

13th August British Makers. Make art inspired by living North

East artists.

20th August ‘Better Together: Collaborate’ Make big art to

transform a space.

27th August ‘Strong Structures’ Create a paper city with

impressive architecture.

22nd Oct ‘Witch Craft’ Monstrous arty fun! Create your

own nightmare creature.

Mon 22 Oct
Dalton 5

£2

Mini Maker Monday

For children 11 and under with their grown ups. Last entry at 1pm in Daltons 5.

22nd Oct ‘Witch Craft’ Spooky craft makes including

masks, bats and paper pumpkins.

2019

1

18th Feb 2019

Beastly!

Art Inspired by Beauty and the Beast

2

8th April 2019

Crafty Colours

Help us sort, mix and play with colour.

3

15th April 2019

Arty Party!

Help us celebrate 25 years of The Customs. Build a paper buffet, make a party hat and help us complete our big Customs House birthday card!

4

27th May

Takeover Special Edition

A special session planned with the help of young people on the Takeover Team

5

22nd July

Big River

Inspired by boats on the Tyne

6

29th July

See Through

Experiment with transparent and translucent materials to create artworks that explore light

7

5th Aug

Imaginary Instruments

Make your own fantasy instruments

8

12th Aug

Costumes

Make masks and accessories.

9

19th Aug

Mini Theatre

Make a model of a mini theatre with your own puppets

10

26th Aug

By The Seaside

Make work inspired by our beautiful beaches.

11

28th Oct

The Dark Arts!

Squashed frogs, vampire bats, wizard’s wands and witches hats!

If you have any queries please email Elizabeth@customshouse.co.uk

Mon 22 Oct
Gallery

£2

Mon 18 Feb
Gallery

£2

Mon 8 Apr
Gallery

£2

Mon 15 Apr
Gallery

£2

Mon 27 May
Gallery

£2

Mon 22 Jul
Gallery

£2

Mon 29 Jul
Gallery

£2

Mon 5 Aug
Gallery

£2

Mon 12 Aug
Gallery

£2

Mon 19 Aug
Gallery

£2

Mon 26 Aug
Gallery

£2

Mon 28 Oct
Gallery

£2

Robin Windsor: The All Fun Farewell Tour

Robin Windsor - The Farewell Tour

Former Strictly Come Dancing star heads out on his last tour before hanging up his dancing shoes.

Sun 21 Oct

£26–£28

Rosie Kay Dance Company: MK Ultra

Rosie Kay Dance Company: MK Ultra

A high-energy, supercharged mash-up of dance, music and imagery, inspired by the bizarre realm of pop culture mind-control conspiracies.

Tue 23 Oct

£12 (£10; Children £10)

Smallfoot

Smallfoot
  • 2018
  • US
  • 1h 36min
  • U
  • Directed by: Karey Kirkpatrick, Jason Reisig
  • Cast: Channing Tatum, James Corden, Zendaya, Common, LeBron James, Danny DeVito, Gina Rodriguez, Yara Shahidi, Ely Henry, Jimmy Tatro

Migo (Tatum) is a bigfoot who lives in an isolated community of his fellow creatures, who have heard rumours of the mythical ‘smallfoots’—humans. The songs are fun and drive the story forward, and child-pleasing slapstick is ably mixed with a thoughtful consideration of how a community can deal with challenges to its basic assumptions.

Sat 20 Oct
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Sun 21 Oct
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Mon 22 Oct
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Tue 23 Oct
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Wed 24 Oct
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Thu 25 Oct
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Fri 26 Oct
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Sat 27 Oct
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Swan Lake

Russian National Ballet Presents:

Swan Lake – The greatest of all romantic ballets

After the sell-out performances of Nutcracker last year, Russian National Ballet returns to the UK with the most famous Ballet of all time. Swan Lake is one of Tchaikovsky’s best works, featuring some of ballet’s most memorable music and breath-taking dance.

Swan Lake is a tale of two young women, Odette and Odilie, who resemble each other so strikingly one can easily be mistaken for the other. It is the compelling legend of a tragic romance in which a princess, Odette, is turned into a swan by an evil curse. Prince Siegfried chances upon a flock of swans while out hunting. When one of the swans turns into a beautiful young woman he is instantly captivated – will his love prove strong enough to break the evil spell that she is under?

Swan Lake is full of mystery and romance and has captured the imagination of generations over the years and it continues to attract worldwide audiences, young and old.

A wonderful evening out and memories which you will cherish long after the final curtain falls.

Music by Pyotr I. Tchaikovsky

Mon 22 Oct

They Shall Not Grow Old

They Shall Not Grow Old
  • 2018
  • UK
  • 2h 30min
  • Directed by: Peter Jackson

Peter Jackson directs this documentary on WWI created with original footage from the Imperial War Museums' film archive and audio from BBC archives.

Sun 21 Oct
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Tom Thumb

One night tiny Tom overhears Mum and Dad talking -

there's nothing left to eat so they are going to leave him

and his six brothers in the forest! Outwitting his parents

and the ogre Tom shows everybody that even though

he is small he is still mighty as he protects his brothers,

finds the treasure and makes sure they'll never be

hungry again. Starring CBeebies’ Patrick Lynch.

Fri 26 Oct

Youth Theatre

Theatre sessions for young people aged 10 to 21 led by Jayden Blacklock. The groups meet every Friday in term time and produce two original performances each year.

Fri 26 Oct
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 2 Nov
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 9 Nov
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 16 Nov
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 23 Nov
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 30 Nov
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 7 Dec
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 14 Dec
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 21 Dec
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 28 Dec
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 4 Jan
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 11 Jan
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 18 Jan
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 25 Jan
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 1 Feb
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 8 Feb
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 15 Feb
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 22 Feb
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 1 Mar
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 8 Mar
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 15 Mar
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 22 Mar
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 29 Mar
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 5 Apr
Dalton Suite

£3.50

The Customs House

Established in 1848, Customs House now features a 441 seat theatre, 145 seat studio, gallery, bar and restaurant. The cinema shows a mixture of new and classic films, with special Movie Meal Deal offers available.

There is free parking opposite the venue if travelling to the venue by car. The South Shields Metro Station is also only a short walk away as is Market Place, where all buses to South Shields stop. If travelling via the river then the Shields Ferry Terminal is only 300 yards walk away.

Tell us more about this venue.