List Film

The Customs House

Add to favourites
Mill Dam, South Shields, England, NE33 1ES
  • Box office 0191 454 1234
  • Box office times Sun–Tues 11am–6pm; Wed–Sat 11am–8pm.
  • Email
  • Website www.customshouse.co.uk
Photo of The Customs House

Act 2 Cam Workshop

Act 2 Cam train actors and filmmakers, designers and musicians from all over the world. Beginner to advanced, we empower our students to make their best film yet.

https://www.act2cam.com/

As this is part of The Takeover Youth Arts Festival all participants should be 14-25 years old.

Thu 31 May
Dalton Suite

Cheddar Gorgeous Drag Makeup Masterclass

The magnificent Cheddar Gorgeous is coming all the way from Manchester to deliver an in depth workshop exploring club kid culture and drag.

This is an incredible opportunity to learn how to contour, cut crease, beat and paint your face. Find out from one of the UK’s most prolific Queens about drags place in contemporary culture and Cheddar’s drag philosophy.

Mon 28 May

Cosplay Ball

Come along to the cosplay ball at The Customs House organised by Megan an active member of the North East Cosplay scene.

A fantastic chance to showcase your costume, makeup and hair skills as well as your characterisation. Who will you come as?

Free but give what you can. Your donations support our work with children and young people at The Customs House.

As this is part of The Takeover Youth Arts Festival the Cosplay party is for young people aged 13 to 25 years.

Mon 28 May
Dalton Suite

Custom Reels Filmmaking

Learn new skills, meet industry professionals and make new friends. Suitable for ages 13–19.

Thu 31 May
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 7 Jun
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 14 Jun
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 21 Jun
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 28 Jun
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 5 Jul
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 12 Jul
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 19 Jul
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 26 Jul
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 2 Aug
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 9 Aug
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 16 Aug
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 23 Aug
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 30 Aug
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 6 Sep
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 13 Sep
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 20 Sep
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 27 Sep
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 4 Oct
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 11 Oct
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 18 Oct
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 25 Oct
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 1 Nov
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 8 Nov
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 15 Nov
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 22 Nov
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 29 Nov
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 6 Dec
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 13 Dec
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 20 Dec
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 27 Dec
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 3 Jan
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 10 Jan
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 17 Jan
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 24 Jan
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 31 Jan
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 7 Feb
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 14 Feb
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 21 Feb
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 28 Feb
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 7 Mar
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 14 Mar
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 21 Mar
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 28 Mar
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 4 Apr
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 11 Apr
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 18 Apr
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 25 Apr
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 2 May
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 9 May
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 16 May
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Thu 23 May
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Drawn Together

This weekly drawing class is led by Gallery Learning Officer, Lesley Guy.

Thu 31 May
Gallery

£5

Thu 7 Jun
Gallery

£5

Thu 14 Jun
Gallery

£5

Thu 21 Jun
Gallery

£5

Thu 28 Jun
Gallery

£5

Thu 5 Jul
Gallery

£5

Thu 12 Jul
Gallery

£5

Thu 19 Jul
Gallery

£5

Thu 26 Jul
Gallery

£5

Thu 2 Aug
Gallery

£5

Thu 9 Aug
Gallery

£5

Thu 16 Aug
Gallery

£5

Thu 23 Aug
Gallery

£5

Thu 30 Aug
Gallery

£5

Thu 6 Sep
Gallery

£5

Thu 13 Sep
Gallery

£5

Thu 20 Sep
Gallery

£5

Thu 27 Sep
Gallery

£5

Thu 4 Oct
Gallery

£5

Thu 11 Oct
Gallery

£5

Thu 18 Oct
Gallery

£5

Thu 25 Oct
Gallery

£5

Thu 1 Nov
Gallery

£5

Thu 8 Nov
Gallery

£5

Thu 15 Nov
Gallery

£5

Thu 22 Nov
Gallery

£5

Graffiti Workshop

Led by graffiti artist Mark Shields, come and have a go at spraying a canvas. It doesn’t matter if you’re a total beginner, everyone under 25 is welcome!

Tue 29 May
Dalton 5

Limehouse Lizzy

Limehouse Lizzy continue to keep the spirit of Celtic rock icon Philip Lynott and his band Thin Lizzy alive, well and dominating stages worldwide. The band have also added a tribute into their show to ex-Thin Lizzy guitarist (and world renowned solo artist) Gary Moore.

From their Official PRS award, performing for Virgin Atlantic in Barbados, T.V. appearances (BBC 2’s ‘Arena’ amongst others), and to actually being recruited to record and tour by members of the original Thin Lizzy, Limehouse Lizzy enter their 21st year with their most explosive show and critically-acclaimed line-up yet.

Despite international tours (UAE, Germany and previously USA, Scandinavia, Caribbean etc.), corporate clients (Mitsubishi, NatWest) and even book appearances (The Rocker, Send In The Clones), they’ve shoehorned a co-headline tour with tribute giants Livewire into 2017, along with their own stand-alone tour, in what will be an exhausting year-long schedule. The boys are back!

QUOTES

'…Limehouse Lizzy Top PRS for Music's Hardest Working UK Bands List'

Billboard Magazine

"Limehouse Lizzy's Wayne Ellis, an uncanny ringer for Phil Lynott…"

The Guardian

“entertainment for more than a decade…fantastic live music”

Arena BBC2

“if you're sceptical about tribute acts, you won't be after seeing Limehouse Lizzy”

Radio Times

"Gig of the week"

The Mirror

Sat 26 May

Mean Teens Breakdancing Jam

Every year Mean Teens get bigger and better. Attracting some of the UKs top Bboys and Bgirls. Come watch them battle.

Mean Teens is hosted by the incredible Just Jam Intl and Bad Taste Cru. This year the competition is in the main house at The Customs House to ensure everyone gets to see who becomes the winner.

2vs2 U19 Bboy/Bgirl battle.

Judges: Justice (BTC) McClane (Full Mongrel) Jacks (Battalions)

DJs: Jelly (BTC) & Kub (BLC)

Host: Ken Masters

Free to watch but give what you can. Your donations support our work with children and young people. Tickets will be available from the box office.

As ages welcome in the audience.

Tue 29 May

Mega Makers

For Children 11 to 13. No grown ups allowed!

12th Feb Lord Lambton and after the worm!

26th March ‘Amazing optical art’ Create our own groovy

artworks inspired by the 1960s.

2nd April ‘Squishy, Sticky and Fluffy’ Make art using

unexpected materials.

28th May The Takeover ‘Studio as Laboratory’

Experiment with paint.

30th July ‘Put it Together’ Art made out of assembling

everyday objects.

6th August ‘Art Factory: Multiples’ Inspired by Pop Artist

Andy Warhol.

13th August British Makers. Make art inspired by living North

East artists.

20th August ‘Better Together: Collaborate’ Make big art to

transform a space.

27th August ‘Strong Structures’ Create a paper city with

impressive architecture.

22nd Oct ‘Witch Craft’ Monstrous arty fun! Create your

own nightmare creature.

Mon 28 May
Dalton 5

£2

Mon 30 Jul
Dalton 5

£2

Mon 6 Aug
Dalton 5

£2

Mon 13 Aug
Dalton 5

£2

Mon 20 Aug
Dalton 5

£2

Mon 27 Aug
Dalton 5

£2

Mon 22 Oct
Dalton 5

£2

Mini Maker Monday

For children 11 and under with their grown ups. Last entry at 1.30pm.

12th Feb Lord Lambton after the worm!

26th March ‘Eye Aye’ Make paintings that play with your

eyes inspired by 1960s patterns.

2nd April ‘Squishy, Sticky and Fluffy’ Get hands on with

fun art materials.

28th May The Takeover ‘Let’s Investigate’ Experiment

with paint.

30th July ‘Put it Together’ Be an artist and make an

exhibition.

6th August ‘Art Factory’ Make incredible drawings.

13th August ‘British Makers’ Make art inspired by living North

East artists.

20th August ‘All Together Now’ Make big art to transform a

space.

27th August ‘Strong Structures’ Sculpt a city creating your

own imaginative buildings.

22nd Oct ‘Witch Craft’ Spooky craft makes including

masks, bats and paper pumpkins.

If you have any queries please email Elizabeth@customshouse.co.uk

Mon 28 May
Gallery

£2

Mon 30 Jul
Gallery

£2

Mon 6 Aug
Gallery

£2

Mon 13 Aug
Gallery

£2

Mon 20 Aug
Gallery

£2

Mon 27 Aug
Gallery

£2

Mon 22 Oct
Gallery

£2

One Woman Sex and the City

STRICTLY OVER 18'S ONLY

One Woman Sex and the City

A Parody on Love, Friendship and Shoes

The ULTIMATE Girl’s Night Out!

This loving tribute and send-up takes audiences through a laughter-infused version of all six seasons of the beloved show. TJ Dawe – (Director and co-creator of One Man Star Wars Trilogy, One Man Lord of the Rings) has comedic whirling dervish Kerry Ipema bringing all our favourite characters to life as they brunch, banter, argue, support each other and swoon over men and Manolos. There will be puns, cosmopolitans and audience participation. For anyone who remembers the naked dress, the tantric sex demonstration, the post-it note, and “he’s just not that into you,” One Woman Sex and the City: A Parody on Love, Friendship, and Shoes will provide a great reminder of why this series and its characters have stayed so firmly in women’s hearts and minds.

“Smart and Hilarious… You should definitely see this show” - Winnipeg Free Press

“Freakin’ Hilarious” - The Daily NonParaeil, Omaha, USA

“Well written, clever and funny” - TheatreJones.com, North Texas, USA

“Hilarious Night Out” - Week99er.com, Detroit, USA

Sun 27 May

Pizza and Pencils

A weekly event for all with an interest in visual arts, exploring how to create your own gallery tour and write exhibition reviews, with the help of pizza.

Fri 25 May
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 1 Jun
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 8 Jun
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 15 Jun
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 22 Jun
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 29 Jun
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 6 Jul
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 13 Jul
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 20 Jul
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 27 Jul
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 3 Aug
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 10 Aug
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 17 Aug
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 24 Aug
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 31 Aug
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 7 Sep
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 14 Sep
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 21 Sep
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 28 Sep
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 5 Oct
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 12 Oct
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 19 Oct
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 26 Oct
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 2 Nov
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 9 Nov
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 16 Nov
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 23 Nov
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 30 Nov
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 7 Dec
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 14 Dec
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 21 Dec
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 28 Dec
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 4 Jan
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 11 Jan
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 18 Jan
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 25 Jan
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 1 Feb
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 8 Feb
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 15 Feb
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 22 Feb
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 1 Mar
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 8 Mar
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 15 Mar
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 22 Mar
Gallery

£3.50

Fri 29 Mar
Gallery

£3.50

Solo: A Star Wars Story

Solo: A Star Wars Story
  • 2018
  • US
  • 2h 14min
  • 12A
  • Directed by: Ron Howard
  • Cast: Alden Ehrenreich, Woody Harrelson, Emilia Clarke, Donald Glover, Thandie Newton, Phoebe Waller-Bridge, Joonas Suotamo

The origin story of the young Han Solo (Ehrenreich), as he gets out of Corellia, meets Chewbacca (Suotamo) and Lando (Glover) for the first time, and runs into former lover Qi’ra (Clarke). Ehrenreich has just the right easy charm and despite some missteps it’s an enjoyable yarn with fine set-pieces.

Fri 25 May
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Sat 26 May
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Sun 27 May
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Mon 28 May
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Tue 29 May
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Wed 30 May
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Thu 31 May
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Fri 1 Jun
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Sat 2 Jun
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Sun 3 Jun
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Mon 4 Jun
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Tue 5 Jun
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Wed 6 Jun
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Thu 7 Jun
Studio

£6 (£5; Children £5)

Staging the Dance

Dance Eighteen

Undergraduates from the University of Sunderland showcase their original dance works. Expect to see a diverse range of performances reflecting the research of the students.

The programme includes themes such as DNA, Feminism, Trial by Jury, Ageing, Selfies and Insects.

Fri 25 May

£8 (£6; Children £6)

Youth Theatre

Theatre sessions for young people aged 10 to 21 led by Jayden Blacklock. The groups meet every Friday in term time and produce two original performances each year.

Fri 25 May
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 1 Jun
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 8 Jun
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 15 Jun
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 22 Jun
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 29 Jun
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 6 Jul
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 13 Jul
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 20 Jul
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 27 Jul
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 3 Aug
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 10 Aug
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 17 Aug
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 24 Aug
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 31 Aug
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 7 Sep
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 14 Sep
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 21 Sep
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 28 Sep
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 5 Oct
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 12 Oct
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 19 Oct
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 26 Oct
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 2 Nov
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 9 Nov
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 16 Nov
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 23 Nov
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 30 Nov
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 7 Dec
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 14 Dec
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 21 Dec
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 28 Dec
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 4 Jan
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 11 Jan
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 18 Jan
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 25 Jan
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 1 Feb
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 8 Feb
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 15 Feb
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 22 Feb
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 1 Mar
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 8 Mar
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 15 Mar
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 22 Mar
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 29 Mar
Dalton Suite

£3.50

Fri 5 Apr
Dalton Suite

£3.50

The Customs House

Established in 1848, Customs House now features a 441 seat theatre, 145 seat studio, gallery, bar and restaurant. The cinema shows a mixture of new and classic films, with special Movie Meal Deal offers available.

There is free parking opposite the venue if travelling to the venue by car. The South Shields Metro Station is also only a short walk away as is Market Place, where all buses to South Shields stop. If travelling via the river then the Shields Ferry Terminal is only 300 yards walk away.

Tell us more about this venue.