List Film

Electric Cinema

Add to favourites
191 Portobello Road, Notting Hill, England, W11 2ED

The Birth of a Nation

The Birth of a Nation
  • 2016
  • US
  • 120 min
  • 15
  • Directed by: Nate Parker
  • Cast: Nate Parker, Armie Hammer, Aja Naomi King, Jackie Earle Haley, Penelope Ann Miller, Gabrielle Union

Nat Turner (Parker) is a slave in early 19th century Virginia, used by his owners to encourage other slaves to submit, but who is plotting an uprising of his own. Despite the controversy surrounding Parker, the film deserves to be seen: angry, dramatic and bittersweet, it's a story that needs telling.

Sun 22 Jan

La La Land

La La Land
  • 2016
  • US
  • 126 min
  • 12A
  • Directed by: Damien Chazelle
  • Cast: Emma Stone, Ryan Gosling, J.K. Simmons

In Los Angeles, aspiring actress Mia (Stone) falls for jazz musician Sebastian (Gosling). Audaciously inventive homage to classic movie musicals, technically wonderful and joyously emotional, with Gosling as a goofy idealistic charmer and Stone showing the versatility, vulnerability and talent of a young Shirley MacLaine. Irresistible.

Sat 21 Jan
Sun 22 Jan
Mon 23 Jan
Tue 24 Jan
Wed 25 Jan
Thu 26 Jan

Lion

Lion
  • 2015
  • Australia/UK/US
  • Directed by: Garth Davis
  • Written by: Saroo Brierley, Luke Davies
  • Cast: Dev Patel, Rooney Mara, David Wenham, Nicole Kidman

The true story of Saroo Brierley, who aged five is separated from his mother and family in India, declared lost and adopted by an Australian couple, only to track his family down years later using Google Earth. Hugely emotional, remarkably assured debut from Davis, with fine performances.

Fri 27 Jan
Sat 28 Jan
Sun 29 Jan
Mon 30 Jan
Tue 31 Jan
Wed 1 Feb
Thu 2 Feb

The cinema on Portobello Road has survived two world wars, including a bombing, and a narrow escape from being turned into a bingo hall. Now over 100 years old, the beautiful arch surrounding the screen is protected by English Heritage, and a specially-designed expanding monitor ensures that the viewing experience is enhanced rather than compromised by the preserved architecture. There's spacious leather armchair seating with footstools and two-seater sofas available in the back row, and a cocktail bar open for 30 minutes before screenings. The discerning programme is a combination of art house, classic and mainstream films that have received critical acclaim.

Tell us more about this venue.