List Film

Light House

Add to favourites
The Chubb Buildings, Fryer Street, Wolverhampton, West Midlands, WV1 1HT
  • Telephone 01902 716055
  • Email
  • Website www.light-house.co.uk
Photo of Light House

Amazing Grace

Amazing Grace
  • 2018
  • US
  • 1h 27min
  • Directed by: Alan Elliott, Sydney Pollack

Documentary about Aretha Franklin’s 1972 concert at the New Temple Missionary Baptist Church in Watts, Los Angeles, shot at the time by Sydney Pollack and realised by Alan Elliott. Digital technology has at last made it possible to sync the sound recording with the footage: revel in Aretha at the height of her power, with an exuberant choir, an engaged congregation and celebrity guests Mick Jagger and Charlie Watts.

Fri 24 May
Sat 25 May
Sun 26 May
Mon 27 May
Tue 28 May
Wed 29 May
Thu 30 May

Bel Canto

Bel Canto
  • 2018
  • US
  • 1h 40min
  • Directed by: Paul Weitz
  • Cast: Julianne Moore, Ken Watanabe, Sebastian Koch

Roxanne Coss (Moore) is an opera singer hired to perform at a diplomatic dinner in an unnamed South American country, but then rebels invade the house and take everyone hostage. This adaptation of Ann Patchett’s novel lacks the usual heroics and Weitz clearly aims for a more thoughtful approach, but can’t decide what kind of film he wants to make.

Fri 24 May
Sat 25 May
Sun 26 May
Mon 27 May
Tue 28 May
Wed 29 May
Thu 30 May
Fri 31 May
Sat 1 Jun
Sun 2 Jun
Mon 3 Jun
Tue 4 Jun
Wed 5 Jun
Thu 6 Jun

Happy As Lazzaro

  • 2018
  • Italy / Switzerland / France / Germany
  • 2h 5min
  • Directed by: Alice Rohrwacher
  • Cast: Adriano Tardiolo, Agnese Graziani, Luca Chikovani

Lazzaro (Tardiolo) is an innocent peasant manipulated by a cruel employer. Rohrwacher’s gorgeous Italian fable is sometimes a little on the nose but thanks to her knack for depicting intimate communities and Tardiolo’s gentle performance, it’s an emotionally engaging triumph.

Thu 23 May

Tolkien

Tolkien
  • 2019
  • US
  • 1h 52min
  • 12A
  • Directed by: Dome Karukoski
  • Cast: Lily Collins, Nicholas Hoult, Genevieve O'Reilly

Young J.R.R. Tolkien (Gilby, then Hoult) romances Edith Bratt (Keene, then Collins), forms friendships and then fights in the trenches of WWI. Hoult is charismatic as the lead and Collins is charming as Edith, and it’s a convincing enough portrait, but it’s a bit too cosy and traditional, especially the family-friendly combat sequences.

Thu 23 May

Tell us more about this venue.