List Film

Rheged Centre

Add to favourites
Redhills, Penrith, Cumbria, CA11 0DQ
  • Telephone 01768 868000
  • Opening times Daily 8.30am–5.30pm.
  • Seasonal times Closed Dec 25 and 26
  • Email
  • Website www.rheged.com
Photo of Rheged Centre

Coco

Coco
  • 2017
  • US
  • 1h 45min
  • PG
  • Directed by: Lee Unkrich
  • Cast: Anthony Gonzalez, Gael García Bernal, Benjamin Bratt, Renée Victor, Ana Ofelia Murguia, Edward James Olmos

Miguel (Rivera) is a 12-year-old Mexican boy who wants to be a musician, but his family disapproves. Then he steals a guitar from a mausoleum and finds himself in the Land of the Dead. An eye-popping mosaic of a kids’ movie which pays proper respect to Mexican folklore, its sincerity and creativity are ultimately winning.

Sun 25 Feb

Darkest Hour

Darkest Hour
  • 2017
  • UK
  • 1h 54min
  • PG
  • Directed by: Joe Wright
  • Cast: Gary Oldman, Kristin Scott Thomas, Ben Mendlesohn, Ronald Pickup

May 1940: the situation in Europe is worsening, and Britain needs a new prime minister. The latest in a very long line of recent Churchill performances is by far the best: Oldman is virtually unrecognisable and attacks the part with relish, with Scott Thomas excellent as his wife Clemmie. It may veer into hero worship but it’s a confidently handled crowdpleaser.

Mon 26 Feb
Tue 27 Feb
Thu 1 Mar

Human Flow

Human Flow
  • 2017
  • Germany
  • 2h 20min
  • 12A
  • Directed by: Ai Weiwei
  • Cast: Israa Abboud, Hiba Abed, Rami Abu Sondos

Ambitious documentary about the global refugee crisis,, made with 25 crews criss-crossing the globe. Ai’s empathy for the displaced comes through and although it’s a little unwieldy at times, it’s full of poetic images and fascinating on-the-ground footage.

Sat 24 Feb

Lakes Ignite: Michael Shaw Slung

One of six newly commissioned contemporary installations for the Lakes Ignite festival. Slung is a colourful inflatable structure with a mild flavour of Dr Seuss, with a hint of Haribos and the Cheshire cat from Alice in Wonderland.

Sat 24 Feb

Free

Sun 25 Feb

Free

Mon 26 Feb

Free

Tue 27 Feb

Free

Wed 28 Feb

Free

Thu 1 Mar

Free

Fri 2 Mar

Free

Sat 3 Mar

Free

Sun 4 Mar

Free

Mon 5 Mar

Free

Tue 6 Mar

Free

Wed 7 Mar

Free

Thu 8 Mar

Free

Fri 9 Mar

Free

Sat 10 Mar

Free

Sun 11 Mar

Free

Mon 12 Mar

Free

Tue 13 Mar

Free

Wed 14 Mar

Free

Thu 15 Mar

Free

Fri 16 Mar

Free

Sat 17 Mar

Free

Sun 18 Mar

Free

Mon 19 Mar

Free

Tue 20 Mar

Free

Wed 21 Mar

Free

Thu 22 Mar

Free

Fri 23 Mar

Free

Sat 24 Mar

Free

Sun 25 Mar

Free

Mon 26 Mar

Free

Tue 27 Mar

Free

Wed 28 Mar

Free

Thu 29 Mar

Free

Fri 30 Mar

Free

Sat 31 Mar

Free

Sun 1 Apr

Free

Mon 2 Apr

Free

Tue 3 Apr

Free

Wed 4 Apr

Free

Thu 5 Apr

Free

Fri 6 Apr

Free

Sat 7 Apr

Free

Sun 8 Apr

Free

Mon 9 Apr

Free

Tue 10 Apr

Free

Wed 11 Apr

Free

Thu 12 Apr

Free

Fri 13 Apr

Free

Sat 14 Apr

Free

Sun 15 Apr

Free

Mon 16 Apr

Free

Tue 17 Apr

Free

Wed 18 Apr

Free

Thu 19 Apr

Free

Fri 20 Apr

Free

Sat 21 Apr

Free

Sun 22 Apr

Free

Mon 23 Apr

Free

Tue 24 Apr

Free

Wed 25 Apr

Free

Thu 26 Apr

Free

Fri 27 Apr

Free

Sat 28 Apr

Free

Sun 29 Apr

Free

Mon 30 Apr

Free

Tue 1 May

Free

Wed 2 May

Free

Thu 3 May

Free

Fri 4 May

Free

Sat 5 May

Free

Sun 6 May

Free

Mon 7 May

Free

Tue 8 May

Free

Wed 9 May

Free

Thu 10 May

Free

Fri 11 May

Free

Sat 12 May

Free

Sun 13 May

Free

Mon 14 May

Free

Tue 15 May

Free

Wed 16 May

Free

Thu 17 May

Free

Fri 18 May

Free

Sat 19 May

Free

Sun 20 May

Free

Mon 21 May

Free

Tue 22 May

Free

Wed 23 May

Free

Thu 24 May

Free

Fri 25 May

Free

Sat 26 May

Free

Sun 27 May

Free

Mon 28 May

Free

Tue 29 May

Free

Wed 30 May

Free

Thu 31 May

Free

Fri 1 Jun

Free

Sat 2 Jun

Free

Sun 3 Jun

Free

Mon 4 Jun

Free

Tue 5 Jun

Free

Wed 6 Jun

Free

Thu 7 Jun

Free

Fri 8 Jun

Free

Sat 9 Jun

Free

Sun 10 Jun

Free

Mon 11 Jun

Free

Tue 12 Jun

Free

Wed 13 Jun

Free

Thu 14 Jun

Free

Fri 15 Jun

Free

Sat 16 Jun

Free

Sun 17 Jun

Free

Mon 18 Jun

Free

Tue 19 Jun

Free

Wed 20 Jun

Free

Thu 21 Jun

Free

Fri 22 Jun

Free

Sat 23 Jun

Free

Sun 24 Jun

Free

Mon 25 Jun

Free

Tue 26 Jun

Free

Wed 27 Jun

Free

Thu 28 Jun

Free

Fri 29 Jun

Free

Sat 30 Jun

Free

Sun 1 Jul

Free

Mon 2 Jul

Free

Tue 3 Jul

Free

Wed 4 Jul

Free

Thu 5 Jul

Free

Fri 6 Jul

Free

Sat 7 Jul

Free

Sun 8 Jul

Free

Mon 9 Jul

Free

Tue 10 Jul

Free

Wed 11 Jul

Free

Thu 12 Jul

Free

Fri 13 Jul

Free

Sat 14 Jul

Free

Sun 15 Jul

Free

Mon 16 Jul

Free

Tue 17 Jul

Free

Wed 18 Jul

Free

Thu 19 Jul

Free

Fri 20 Jul

Free

Sat 21 Jul

Free

Sun 22 Jul

Free

Mon 23 Jul

Free

Tue 24 Jul

Free

Wed 25 Jul

Free

Thu 26 Jul

Free

Fri 27 Jul

Free

Sat 28 Jul

Free

Sun 29 Jul

Free

Mon 30 Jul

Free

Tue 31 Jul

Free

Our Last Tango

Our Last Tango
  • 2017
  • Argentina / Germany / Italy
  • 1h 25min
  • 12A
  • Directed by: German Kral

Documentary on the life of Argentina dancers Maria Nieves Rego and Juan Carlos Copes.

Sat 24 Feb

Phantom Thread

Phantom Thread
  • 2017
  • US
  • 2h 10min
  • 15
  • Directed by: Paul Thomas Anderson
  • Cast: Vicky Krieps, Daniel Day-Lewis, Lesley Manville

Reynolds Woodcock (Day Lewis) is a haute couture dressmaker in 50s London; when he meets Alma (Krieps), and she becomes his muse and then his lover, the carefully crafted life he has made with his sister (Manville) is turned upside down. A multi-layered, expertly observed study of desire and control, with masterful work from Anderson and his cast.

Sun 25 Feb
Mon 26 Feb
Tue 27 Feb
Wed 28 Feb
Thu 1 Mar

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
  • 2017
  • UK / US
  • 1h 55min
  • 15
  • Directed by: Martin McDonagh
  • Cast: Frances McDormand, Woody Harrelson, Sam Rockwell, Peter Dinklage

Exasperated by the police’s failure to catch her daughter’s murderer, Mildred Hayes (McDormand) buys ad space on the titular billboards to tear a strip off the police chief (Harrelson). McDonagh’s latest delicately balances the lingering pain of the crime itself with dark comedy, and a superb cast is topped by a magnificent performance from McDormand.

Sat 24 Feb
Sun 25 Feb
Mon 26 Feb
Tue 27 Feb
Thu 1 Mar
Rheged Centre

Rheged is located at the northern gateway to the Lake District, at Penrith. Opened in 2000, the centre welcomes over 450,000 visitors every year. The vision of a Cumbrian farmer, John Dunning, Rheged is a centre that celebrates its place, through its programme of arts and family events and exhibitions, as well as its food and shops.

Tell us more about this venue.