Formerly the King's Cinema (opened 1914), a refurbishment and name change by owner Jim Poole led to Edinburgh's first art house cinema, The Cameo, in 1949. Since then it's been an important venue for the Edinburgh International Film Festival.
All screens apart from Screen 3 have wheelchair access and there are adapted toilets available.
Haymarket Train Station is a 15 minute walk away, whilst Waverley Station is 30 minutes away.
Bus routes close to the cinema are 2, 3, 35, 45, 109, 118, 133, 159, 196, 250, 322, 345, 355, P4, P5, N2, N3, N35, N37, N109.
Reviews & features
Student Guide 2016: best cinemas in Edinburgh and Glasgow23 Sep 2016
Where to catch the latest hit films, intriguing documentaries and forgotten classics
Lovers of indie flicks, cult classics and documentaries, rejoice: both Edinburgh and Glasgow boast a great selection of independent cinemas, many of which offer too-good-to-resist student discounts. In the capital, the Filmhouse is a haven for…
Tell us more about this place.