List Film

South London Gallery

Add to favourites
65-67 Peckham Road, London, SE5 8UH
  • Telephone 020 7703 6120
  • Opening times Tue & Thu–Sun 11am–6pm; Wed 11am–9pm; closed Mon.
  • Email
  • Website www.southlondongallery.org
Photo of South London Gallery

Alicia Reyes McNamara: Nowhere Else

Following six months as the South London Gallery's Graduate-in-Residence in the Outset Artists' Flat, Alicia Reyes McNamara presents her first solo show in a public institution. Reyes McNamara's work aims to challenge incomplete identities constructed by two-dimensional ideas of Latino culture. Her work translates the Mexican American or Chicana identity through her explorations of language as a territory and space to challenge ideas of authenticity within a diaspora. Combining sculpture, painting and video work in the exhibition, Reyes McNamara investigates key texts by Mexican American theorist Gloria E. Anzaluda, Dominican American writer Junot Diaz, and Cuban American poet Gustavo Perez Firmat.

Sat 29 Apr

Free

Sun 30 Apr

Free

Tue 2 May

Free

Wed 3 May

Free

Thu 4 May

Free

Fri 5 May

Free

Sat 6 May

Free

Sun 7 May

Free

Tue 9 May

Free

Wed 10 May

Free

Thu 11 May

Free

Fri 12 May

Free

Sat 13 May

Free

Sun 14 May

Free

Tue 16 May

Free

Wed 17 May

Free

Thu 18 May

Free

Fri 19 May

Free

Sat 20 May

Free

Sun 21 May

Free

Tue 23 May

Free

Wed 24 May

Free

Thu 25 May

Free

Fri 26 May

Free

Sat 27 May

Free

Sun 28 May

Free

Tue 30 May

Free

Wed 31 May

Free

Thu 1 Jun

Free

Fri 2 Jun

Free

Sat 3 Jun

Free

Sun 4 Jun

Free

Tue 6 Jun

Free

Wed 7 Jun

Free

Thu 8 Jun

Free

Fri 9 Jun

Free

Sat 10 Jun

Free

Sun 11 Jun

Free

Erik Van Lieshout: Three Social Works

Erik van Lieshout's work explores themes often rooted in his experience of living and working in the Netherlands but nevertheless relevant to contemporary experience across Europe and beyond. His SLG show brings together works that draw on socio-political observations, marginalised identities and the role of the artist in society. Interconnected architectural environments house three videos characterised by an absurdist sense of humour and ranging from a study of cats living in the basement of St. Petersburg's Hermitage Museum, through to interviews with the artist's family members, and a series of monologues set against an investigation into the life of a deceased man called Janus.

Sat 29 Apr

Free

Sun 30 Apr

Free

Tue 2 May

Free

Wed 3 May

Free

Thu 4 May

Free

Fri 5 May

Free

Sat 6 May

Free

Sun 7 May

Free

Tue 9 May

Free

Wed 10 May

Free

Thu 11 May

Free

Fri 12 May

Free

Sat 13 May

Free

Sun 14 May

Free

Tue 16 May

Free

Wed 17 May

Free

Thu 18 May

Free

Fri 19 May

Free

Sat 20 May

Free

Sun 21 May

Free

Tue 23 May

Free

Wed 24 May

Free

Thu 25 May

Free

Fri 26 May

Free

Sat 27 May

Free

Sun 28 May

Free

Tue 30 May

Free

Wed 31 May

Free

Thu 1 Jun

Free

Fri 2 Jun

Free

Sat 3 Jun

Free

Sun 4 Jun

Free

Tue 6 Jun

Free

Wed 7 Jun

Free

Thu 8 Jun

Free

Fri 9 Jun

Free

Sat 10 Jun

Free

Sun 11 Jun

Free

Tell us more about this venue.