List Film

South London Gallery

Add to favourites
65-67 Peckham Road, London, SE5 8UH
  • Telephone 020 7703 6120
  • Opening times Tue & Thu–Sun 11am–6pm; Wed 11am–9pm; closed Mon.
  • Email
  • Website www.southlondongallery.org
Photo of South London Gallery

The Place Is Here

'The Place is Here' presents work by over twenty black artists and collectives working in 1980s Britain. Shown across the South London Gallery and Middlesborough Institute of Modern Art, the exhibition spans painting, film, photography and archival material from this pivotal decade in British culture and politics. It is a continuation of 'The Place is Here' (Nottingham Contemporary, 2017) and 'Thinking Back. A Montage of Black Art in Britain' (Van Abbemuseum, 2016).

Wed 28 Jun

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Thu 29 Jun

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Fri 30 Jun

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sat 1 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sun 2 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Mon 3 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Tue 4 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Wed 5 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Thu 6 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Fri 7 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sat 8 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sun 9 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Mon 10 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Tue 11 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Wed 12 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Thu 13 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Fri 14 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sat 15 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sun 16 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Mon 17 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Tue 18 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Wed 19 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Thu 20 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Fri 21 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sat 22 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sun 23 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Mon 24 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Tue 25 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Wed 26 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Thu 27 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Fri 28 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sat 29 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sun 30 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Mon 31 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Tue 1 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Wed 2 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Thu 3 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Fri 4 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sat 5 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sun 6 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Mon 7 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Tue 8 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Wed 9 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Thu 10 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Fri 11 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sat 12 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sun 13 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Mon 14 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Tue 15 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Wed 16 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Thu 17 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Fri 18 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sat 19 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sun 20 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Mon 21 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Tue 22 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Wed 23 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Thu 24 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Fri 25 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sat 26 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sun 27 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Mon 28 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Tue 29 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Wed 30 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Thu 31 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Fri 1 Sep

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sat 2 Sep

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sun 3 Sep

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Mon 4 Sep

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Tue 5 Sep

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Wed 6 Sep

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Thu 7 Sep

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Fri 8 Sep

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sat 9 Sep

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sun 10 Sep

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00

The Place is Here

Middlesborough Institute of Modern Art (mima) and the South London Gallery (SLG) are pleased to announce details of the exhibition The Place Is Here. Originally presented at the Van Abbemuseum, Eindhoven (2016) and recently shown in an expanded version at Nottingham Contemporary (February - April 2017), this new iteration of the exhibition across two venues brings together painting, photography, video and archival materials from the 1970s and 1980s by 25 artists and collectives. The Place is Here evokes some of the debates taking place between black artists, writers and institutions in the UK in the 1980s. Across two venues the works and archives on display show how a new generation of practitioners were responding to a range of discourses and politics: Civil Rights-era "Black art" from the US; Margaret Thatcher's anti-immigration policies and the resulting uprisings across the country; apartheid in South Africa; and black feminism. This group of artists were also reworking and subverting a range of art-historical references and aesthetic strategies - from William Morris to Pop Art, documentary practices or the introduction of Third Cinema to the UK. Revisiting these discussions today, at a time when the UK is increasingly divided, is both timely and prescient. The two parts of the exhibition offer different, though overlapping, entry points into this pivotal decade for British culture. At the South London Gallery, a constellation of film, photography, painting and archives show how artists were drawing on myriad forms of representation and storytelling to interrogate race, gender and sexual politics. Different forms of self-portraiture and self-representation appear throughout the main gallery in the work of artists such as Rasheed Araeen, Zarina Bhimji, Sonia Boyce, Mona Hatoum and Donald Rodney. Films by Isaac Julien and Martina Attille in the first floor galleries show the way in which narrative and documentary were being explored and tested by an emerging generation of black filmmakers.

Wed 28 Jun

Free

  • 11:00 – 21:00
Thu 29 Jun

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Fri 30 Jun

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sat 1 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sun 2 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Tue 4 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Wed 5 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 21:00
Thu 6 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Fri 7 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sat 8 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sun 9 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Tue 11 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Wed 12 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 21:00
Thu 13 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Fri 14 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sat 15 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sun 16 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Tue 18 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Wed 19 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 21:00
Thu 20 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Fri 21 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sat 22 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sun 23 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Tue 25 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Wed 26 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 21:00
Thu 27 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Fri 28 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sat 29 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sun 30 Jul

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Tue 1 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Wed 2 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 21:00
Thu 3 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Fri 4 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sat 5 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sun 6 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Tue 8 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Wed 9 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 21:00
Thu 10 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Fri 11 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sat 12 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sun 13 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Tue 15 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Wed 16 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 21:00
Thu 17 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Fri 18 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sat 19 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sun 20 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Tue 22 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Wed 23 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 21:00
Thu 24 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Fri 25 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sat 26 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sun 27 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Tue 29 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Wed 30 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 21:00
Thu 31 Aug

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Fri 1 Sep

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sat 2 Sep

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sun 3 Sep

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Tue 5 Sep

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Wed 6 Sep

Free

  • 11:00 – 21:00
Thu 7 Sep

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Fri 8 Sep

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sat 9 Sep

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00
Sun 10 Sep

Free

  • 11:00 – 18:00

Tell us more about this venue.