List Film

The Oxford Playhouse

Add to favourites
Beaumont Street, Oxford, OX1 2LW
Photo of The Oxford Playhouse

40+ Acting Company - Spring

This is a new company for anyone aged 40+ with an enthusiasm to explore classic and contemporary plays on their feet.

You will meet twice a month to explore a different genre of theatre during each session, looking at play extracts, discussing themes and characters and working through monologues and duologues. The company will rehearse and have the opportunity to perform rehearsed readings and staged extracts of a selection of plays.

You aren’t required to attend every session, but do book in advance to guarantee your place.

Thu 25 Jan
Top Room

£10

Thu 1 Feb
Top Room

£10

Thu 8 Feb
Top Room

£10

Thu 22 Feb
Top Room

£10

Thu 1 Mar
Top Room

£10

Thu 8 Mar
Top Room

£10

Thu 15 Mar
Top Room

£10

Thu 22 Mar
Top Room

£10

Thu 29 Mar
Top Room

£10

Fiddler on the Roof

Music by Jerry Bock, lyrics by Sheldon Harnick, and book by Joseph Stein.

The award-winning Oxford Operatic Society returns to the Playhouse.

Fiddler on the Roof is an enduringly popular show that’s been celebrated across the globe. Featuring hits such as 'If I Were A Rich Man', 'Matchmaker' and 'Sunrise Sunset', it beautifully captures vital themes, while also demonstrating plenty of heart.

The story follows Tevye, a poor Jewish milkman who lives in a small Ukrainian village with his wife and five strong minded daughters. But as a rapidly changing world threatens to displace them, is all their squabbling for nought? OXOPS’ production is sure to be filled with gorgeous song and strong performances from Oxford’s best non-professional performers, demonstrating the ever-relevant nature of this timeless classic.

Sat 20 Jan

The Play That Goes Wrong

The Play That Goes Wrong
  • Directed by: Mark Bell
  • Written by: Jonathan Sayer, Henry Lewis, Henry Shields

Award winning company Theatre Mischief presents a play-within-a-play about an amateur dramatic society putting on a murder mystery production.

Mon 22 Jan

£8–£35.50 (£12)

Tue 23 Jan

£8–£35.50 (£12)

Wed 24 Jan

£8–£35.50 (£12)

Thu 25 Jan

£8–£35.50 (£12)

Fri 26 Jan

£8–£35.50 (£12)

Sat 27 Jan

£8–£35.50 (£12)

Unmade Beds

Unmade Beds, a new piece of student writing explores the tenderness, awkwardness and comedy when Carol and Nick wake up to find themselves in bed together and piece together not only the night before, but their separate pasts and their common experiences. Staged in thrust and with a lightly surrealist set design, come to see an accurate depiction of university life, and stay for the delightfully-written dialogue. Tickets: £6/£5 discounts

Tue 23 Jan
BT Studio

£6

Wed 24 Jan
BT Studio

£6

Thu 25 Jan
BT Studio

£6

Fri 26 Jan
BT Studio

£6

Sat 27 Jan
BT Studio

£6

Tell us more about this venue.