Free Solo

Free Solo
  • 2018
  • US
  • 1h 40min
  • 12A
  • Directed by: Jimmy Chin, Elizabeth Chai Vasarhelyi

Documentary about free solo climber Alex Honnold and his ambition to ascend El Capitan in Yosemite national park. Insightful and exhilarating, showing how Honnold’s personal life and background have affected his climbing, and how the filmmakers themselves had to take special efforts not to distract him into making a disastrous error.

Read review

Performance times

The Barn Theatre, Seaford (0.0 miles)

The Barn, Saxon Lane, Seaford, East Sussex, BN25 1QL
Add to favourites

Fri 10 May

  • 19:30

The Film Place, Buckingham (0.0 miles)

University of Buckingham, Chandos Road Building, Station Road, Buckingham, England, MK18 1EG
Add to favourites

Sat 4 May

  • 19:30

Parbold Picture House, Wigan (0.0 miles)

Village Hall The Green, Wigan, Lancashire, WN8 7DN
Add to favourites

Sun 28 Apr

  • 19:00 – 21:00

Theatr Mwldan, Cardigan (0.0 miles)

Bath House Road, Cardigan, Wales, SA43 1JY
Add to favourites

Fri 3 May

  • 17:50

Sun 5 May

  • 17:50

Mon 6 May

  • 17:50

Fri 10 May

  • 20:35

Sat 11 May

  • 20:20

Sun 12 May

  • 18:00

Mon 13 May

  • 18:00

Wed 15 May

  • 18:00

Reviews & features

Free Solo

10 Dec 20184 stars

Insightful and exhilarating documentary following rock climber Alex Honnold

Opening with the dizzying aerial image of climber Alex Honnold perched perilously on a seemingly sheer cliff face, high above the ground, Free Solo is visually spectacular from the outset. Perhaps more awesome than the soaring natural habitat in which…

Tell us more about this listing.