2001: A Space Odyssey

2001: A Space Odyssey
  • 1968
  • UK
  • 2h 19min
  • U
  • Directed by: Stanley Kubrick
  • Cast: Keir Dullea, Gary Lockwood, William Sylvester, Douglas Rain (voice)

Kubrick's gloriously grand architecture sees prehistoric apes timelined into a space ballet featuring a lunar craft docking to the sound of Strauss. This scene prefigures an extended drama aboard a spacecraft bound for Jupiter involving the murderous AI computer and the giant embryo of a space child signifying … what? The next step in human evolution? An opaque masterpiece, which suggests so much, yet explains so little. Which is why it's a timeless classic.

Performance times

The Mockingbird Cinema and Kitchen, Birmingham (0.0 miles)

Gibb Street, Birmingham, West Midlands, B9 4AA
Add to favourites

Tue 17 Jul

  • 20:00

Wed 18 Jul

Thu 19 Jul

National Science and Media Museum, Bradford (0.0 miles)

Prince's View, Bradford, West Yorkshire, BD1 1NQ
Add to favourites

Tue 17 Jul

  • 20:30

Wed 18 Jul

Thu 19 Jul

Prince Charles Cinema, London WC2H (0.0 miles)

7 Leicester Place, London, WC2H 7BY
Add to favourites

Sat 28 Jul

  • 17:00

Thu 2 Aug

  • 20:45

Sat 4 Aug

  • 14:15

Wed 8 Aug

  • 20:01

Sat 11 Aug

  • 14:15

Tue 14 Aug

  • 20:01

Sun 19 Aug

  • 20:01

Tue 21 Aug

  • 20:01

Sun 30 Sep

  • 15:00

Tue 2 Oct

  • 20:01

Thu 4 Oct

  • 20:01

Sat 6 Oct

  • 17:00

Mon 8 Oct

  • 20:01

Wed 10 Oct

  • 20:01

An imposing black structure provides a connection between the past and the future in this enigmatic adaptation of a short story by revered sci-fi author Arthur C. Clarke. When Dr. Dave Bowman (Keir Dullea) and other astronauts are sent on a mysterious mission, their ship's computer system, HAL, begins to display increasingly strange behaviour, leading up to a tense showdown between man and machine that results in a mind-bending trek through space and time in Kubrick's masterpiece.

Re-released for the film's 50th anniversary. 160 mins approx plus trailers & adverts

Text supplied by third party.

Tell us more about this listing.